.

.

quinta-feira, 20 de maio de 2010

NASA Observes Ash Plume of Icelandic Volcano

NASA Observes Ash Plume of Icelandic Volcano
NASA's Aqua Satellite Captures Another Ash Plume from the Iceland Volcano
NASA's Aqua satellite flew over the Eyjafjallajokull Volcano in Iceland on May 4 at 14:00 UTC (10 a.m. EDT), and captured a visible image of its ash plume. Despite the abundance of clouds in the area, the plume appears as a thin line of darker clouds streaming from the center of the image toward the southeast. The bright white areas on Iceland is snow and ice cover.
Credit: NASA/Goddard/MODIS Rapid Response Team
The image showed the ash plume as a very small, faint area of brown on Iceland's southern tip
A NASA and NOAA provided instrument flying on a polar orbiting MetOp-A satellite developed by the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT), captured an image of the Eyjafjallajökull volcano's waning ash plume.

The satellite image came from NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer (AVHRR/3). The AVHRR/3 instrument captured an image of the ash plume from the Eyjafjallajökull volcano on April 20 between 12:20 and 12:29 UTC (8:20-8:29 a.m. EDT) as the MetOp-A satellite passed overhead.

Um comentário:

greece_traveller disse...

Nice blog you have. Check out mine about Santorini Island in Greece, http://santorini-hotels.blogspot.com/ which was born of the eruption, of its volcano. I am sure you will be seduced by the view from every single corner on Santorini.